TO UNLOCK OR NOT TO UNLOCK AND THE DEATH OF MY TOUCH SCREEN PHONE

I hate monthly bills and I’m always looking to pay as little as I can for cell service. This lead me to VirginMobile. Unfortunately my Rumor Touch II(I HATE touch screens) is dying a miserable death (did I mention that I hate touch screens?) but I’m still on their $25 unlimited texting & data plan with 300 minutes of talk time. Unfortunately, VM has bumped the plan to $35 and if I switch up phones I’ll be paying the new rate. So I decided to take my old Razr V3 to the mall to get it unlocked. Mall cell kiosks will do it for $25 but a quick search revealed that you can get a thoroughly used Razr V3, unlocked on Ebay for $20. So I pulled the trigger as I need a quad band phone that takes international SIM cards when traveling.  So maybe I’ll be going back to the Razr and complimenting it with a slider tablet for web on the go. Yes, the Rumor Touch was just a feature phone but what exactly am I missing? I still dig the Razr –it’s a classic and have you ever tried to use a touch screen phone (even one with a slider keypad) when the touch no longer works? It’s a talk-to-the-screen-cause-the-OS-ain’t-listenin’ moment. To be continued…

Leave a Reply

